Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Proprietary forum software

Beans

Angry Proprietary forum software

Ubuntuforums use vBulletin, which is proprietary software.

Ubuntu represents freedom. I think Ubuntuforums should not use proprietary software. I think it should use a free open source forum software.

In the spirit of Ubuntu!

Beans

Re: Proprietary forum software

Quote Originally Posted by Morot313 View Post
    Ubuntuforums use vBulletin, which is proprietary software.

Ubuntu represents freedom. I think Ubuntuforums should not use proprietary software. I think it should use a free open source forum software.

In the spirit of Ubuntu!
    I read this exact post word for word somewhere before....
    sudo rm -rf permanently deletes files. Don't use it unless you KNOW what you are doing!

Beans

Beans

I assume though that the ubuntuforums team is keeping an eye on FOSS forum software for when something becomes mature enough for them to use, right? RIGHT????
    I am not a lawyer...yet.
    Music Manumit Podcast - remixable Creative Commons music!
    My neglected blog: http://douglasawh.wordpress.com
    My website: http://opensourceplayground.org

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by DouglasAWh View Post
    I assume though that the ubuntuforums team is keeping an eye on FOSS forum software for when something becomes mature enough for them to use, right? RIGHT????
    This forum has over .5 millions members. The database is over 10 GB. The inclusion of a simple feature can cause the entire forum to do weird things.

Extensive testing must be done on all new things (except the thanks feature, which went live by accident during testing and has problems still).

Changing to another software package, even if superior in theory would be most impracticle if not impossible even with paid workers.