Thread: Lucid Lynx: mounting Windows partition and password

Beans

Lucid Lynx: mounting Windows partition and password

Hi,

I was just wondering, is there a reason why when mounting a Windows partition I am no longer prompted for a password?
    I kinda liked this behaviour because it helped me lower the risk of doing stupid stuff to the windows partition.

Thanks in advance

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Lucid Lynx: mounting Windows partition and password

Quote Originally Posted by t36
    I was just wondering, is there a reason why when mounting a Windows partition I am no longer prompted for a password?
    I kinda liked this behaviour because it helped me lower the risk of doing stupid stuff to the windows partition.
    Well, since none of us was looking over your shoulder and you didn't give much information, it isn't going to be easy to answer because we don't know the conditions under which it happened.

Given no further information, I would guess that you had already used a command that elevated your permissions and that you tried before the elevated permissions "time out" expired. But that's just a guess.

Otherwise, please explain a bit more about what you are asking.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Open a terminal and enter:

Code:
    sudo gedit /var/lib/polkit-1/localauthority/10-vendor.d/com.ubuntu.desktop.pkla
    Change the first occurrence of 'ResultActive=yes' to 'ResultActive=auth_admin_keep' and save. The behaviour should now revert to the default of requiring a password when mounting internal disks.

Beans

I was indeed referring to mounting internal disks. In 9.10 whenever I wanted to browse my windows partition via places -> WinXP partition I would get a prompt asking for authentication. Now in 10.04, that doesn't happen any more (I'm pretty sure I didn't change any thing). And that just feels a bit weird and unsafe.
    I will try DawieS's solution once I get home.

Thanks.

Beans

Thanks! DawieS's answer did the trick .

Beans