Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: can't get full screen resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    186
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    can't get full screen resolution

    Hi. I just installed lubuntu 10. Installed fine, but the highest resolution I can get through Preferences>Monitor Settings is 800x600. My screen is 1024x768. How can I tell lubuntu to use this resolution?

  2. #2
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,628

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    What video card/chip are you using?

    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ballarat
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    Code:
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ lspci | grep VGA
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)
    Sorry Pacopag, it's been two weeks, so I'm stealing this thread...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    This may be at help to those who have resolution problems: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ar#post8595940

    It worked for me. Simply follow all the instructions and you should have your desired resolution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    496
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    Well, you can normally hack around it with the help of xrandr, although it's a little awkward.

    In a terminal, set up these variables to make our lives easier (set HRES to the horizontal screen resolution desired, and VRES to the vertical resolution desired):

    Code:
    HRES=1024;VRES=768
    So we can begin - run this, creating a new video mode in xrandr based on a modeline generated by cvt.

    Code:
    xrandr --newmode $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | cut -d\  -f2-)
    Now, we need to link that video mode to a screen. First, run xrandr to get the name of the screen

    Code:
    xrandr
    Here's the output from one of my x screens:

    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 2960 x 1050, current 2960 x 1050, maximum 2960 x 1050
    default connected 2960x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       2960x1050      50.0*
    The name is the first thing before " connected", in this example it's "default".

    Run this to link the video mode to "default" (replace with your screen name, don't forget to use quotes if there's a space in it):

    Code:
    xrandr --addmode "default" $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    Finally, with the new mode created and linked with the screen, we set the screen's output to the new mode:

    Code:
    xrandr --output "default" --mode $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    You can revert to your previous mode by using the previous command with a different --mode parameter (for a list of available modes, use xrandr).
    Last edited by stderr; June 6th, 2010 at 08:02 AM. Reason: Used the wrong output name in the example
    Ace1 FreeBSD/Gnome 2, i5 2300, 16GB, HX750W, 20TB ZFS pool, 60GB SSD, Fractal Design XL
    Ace2 Ubuntu/Xubuntu, i7 2600, 16GB, HX850W, 4TB, Asus HD6970, Fractal Design R3
    Ace3 Ubuntu/XFCE, E7200, 4GB, OCZ GameXStream 700W, 8TB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by stderr View Post
    Well, you can normally hack around it with the help of xrandr, although it's a little awkward.

    In a terminal, set up these variables to make our lives easier (set HRES to the horizontal screen resolution desired, and VRES to the vertical resolution desired):

    Code:
    HRES=1024;VRES=768
    So we can begin - run this, creating a new video mode in xrandr based on a modeline generated by cvt.

    Code:
    xrandr --newmode $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | cut -d\  -f2-)
    Now, we need to link that video mode to a screen. First, run xrandr to get the name of the screen

    Code:
    xrandr
    Here's the output from one of my x screens:

    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 2960 x 1050, current 2960 x 1050, maximum 2960 x 1050
    default connected 2960x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       2960x1050      50.0*
    The name is the first thing, in this example it's "Screen 0".

    Run this to link the video mode to "Screen 0" (replace with your screen name, don't forget to use quotes if there's a space in it):

    Code:
    xrandr --addmode "Screen 0" $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    Finally, with the new mode created and linked with the screen, we set the screen's output to the new mode:

    Code:
    xrandr --output "Screen 0" --mode $(cvt $HRES $VRES | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    You can revert to your previous mode by using the previous command with a different --mode parameter (for a list of available modes, use xrandr).
    Thats all in the thread I posted above.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ballarat
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    Thanks guys. First I tried the thread suggested by DarkRage4. That thread would have me use default as the output, however no luck:

    Code:
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr 
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
    default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       800x600        61.0* 
       640x480        60.0  
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ cvt 1360 768
    # 1360x768 59.80 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.72 kHz; pclk: 84.75 MHz
    Modeline "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --addmode default 1360x768_60.00
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --output default --mode  1360x768_60.00
    xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
    Then I moved onto stderr's suggestion (which is very similar) using 'Screen 0' as the output, but still no luck:

    Code:
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr 
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 1360 x 768
    default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       800x600        61.0* 
       640x480        60.0  
       1360x768_60.00   59.3 
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --newmode $(cvt 1360 768 | grep -v '#' | cut -d\  -f2-)
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr 
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 1360 x 768
    default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       800x600        61.0* 
       640x480        60.0  
       1360x768_60.00   59.3  
      "1360x768_60.00" (0x13c)   84.0MHz
            h: width  1360 start 1432 end 1568 total 1776 skew    0 clock   47.3KHz
            v: height  768 start  771 end  781 total  798           clock   59.3Hz
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --addmode "Screen 0" $(cvt 1360 768 | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    xrandr: cannot find output "Screen 0"
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --addmode "default" $(cvt 1360 768 | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --output "Screen 0" --mode $(cvt 1360 768 | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    warning: output Screen 0 not found; ignoring
    lubuntutenzerofour@lubuntu-pc:~$ xrandr --output "default" --mode $(cvt 1360 768 | grep -v '#' | awk '{ print $2 }')
    xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
    The monitor in this case is an ASUS VW161D with a native resolution of 1360*768, however showing a maximum of 800*600 (which is an incorrect ratio).

    Any other suggestions appreciated.

    Edit: Found some info that res may be 1366*768, still not success with these methods.
    Last edited by joshedmonds; June 6th, 2010 at 08:11 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    496
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    @DarkRage4: by the time I'd completed my post you'd already posted

    @joshed: No, sorry, that was my mistake, which I was correcting as you were posting your response lol. That output doesn't look good. Might be worth checking your xorg.conf?

    Additionally, it may be worth checking Xorg.0.log to see what graphics driver is actually being loaded. Chances are, you haven't got the correct driver installed for your graphics card, or the xorg.conf monitor configuration/modelines are incorrect.
    Last edited by stderr; June 6th, 2010 at 08:15 AM.
    Ace1 FreeBSD/Gnome 2, i5 2300, 16GB, HX750W, 20TB ZFS pool, 60GB SSD, Fractal Design XL
    Ace2 Ubuntu/Xubuntu, i7 2600, 16GB, HX850W, 4TB, Asus HD6970, Fractal Design R3
    Ace3 Ubuntu/XFCE, E7200, 4GB, OCZ GameXStream 700W, 8TB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ballarat
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    Thanks stderr

    This install doesn't have a xorg.conf file, and I can't seem to kill the x session (The release notes from Lubuntu appear to be a copy of those from Ubuntu, and gdm is not a valid service).

    When running Ubuntu 10.04 rather than Lubuntu there are proprietary Nvidia drivers available, however they do not appear in jockey in Lubuntu.

    As I have the drivers downloaded and available from the 10.04 install, maybe they can be manually added?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: can't get full screen resolution

    So I am guessing the whole Xrandr problem is because you are on Lubuntu not Ubuntu, and since you do not have gdm as a vaild service, you can not keep it running with the resolution you wanted anyways. :/ Sorry I couldn't be at help, I hope you get this figured out.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •